Strange Attractions

(Or… Things That Make Them Go “Whaaat?”)

Many animal owners know there are certain sounds that will wake their furry friend out of a slumber and bring them running. Most of the time these sounds are food related, but not always…

For Rocky, the sound of crinkling sliced cheese wrappers or the sound of opening a lunch meat container always drew him in. (I have no idea what that sound actually is. I never noticed it.) Even in his old man, hard of hearing days, he would haul himself into the kitchen anytime we opened some ham or sliced cheese.

ilikeham
“I like ham.”

Of course, the jingle of the leash or the opening of the pantry door (TREATS!) sent them into a furry frenzy. There are a few strange sounds that draw Jacques in every time.

The first isn’t incredibly strange, but his intense reaction to it is. It doesn’t matter where he is in the house (or outside, for that matter) or how asleep he is, if he hears a squeak (even if it’s on TV!), he is immediately – and I mean immediately – on the move trying to find the source of the sound. Most of the time it’s hilarious… unless it happens in the middle of the night. Having an insane Westie on your hands at 2 a.m. is not that great. Trust me.

Jacques is perplexed by the squeaking noises coming from the iPad.
Jacques is perplexed by the squeaking noises coming from the iPad.

The other sound that attracts Jacques is, to me, very strange. It appears that he has a thing for the hair dryer. It goes something like this: I turn on the hair dryer and lean over to start drying the underside of my hair. After about 15 seconds, I stand back up… and there he is. Sitting. Staring. The first few times it happened, it scared the bejeezus out of me. Even now that I know it’s going to happen, it still startles me occasionally.

While he’s drawn to the hair dryer, he doesn’t actually like it when you turn it on him. That makes him less than happy.

I guess I shouldn’t be surprised that a strange dog is drawn in by strange and/or seemingly random sounds.

Is your pet “attracted” to strange sounds?

Speak!!

