Is My Dog Part Cat?

I think Jacques is part cat. Let me throw this disclaimer out there – I have never owned a cat. That being said, I’ve been around quite a few of them and have heard a lot about them from various friends and family members. That being said… I still think Jacques is part cat and here’s the evidence:

He jumps up and starts running laps around the house as if some boogey man is after him – all for no apparent reason. (I don’t see the boogey man hot on his tail…)

He perches on things. (I have way, WAY too many pictures of this so I picked out a few that I thought best represented this behavior.)

The subject exhibiting cat-like perching behavior...

The subject exhibiting cat-like perching behavior…

He’ll stare at you, even make eye contact with you, and then his eyes will start to close as though he’s so bored by you that he can’t be bothered to stay conscious. Or maybe he’s narcoleptic. I don’t know. (I need to get pictures or video of this… it’s HILARIOUS.)

He “hides” under things with the “If I can’t see you, you can’t see me” attitude. (Strange. Very strange.)

He's not very good at hide and go seek...

He’s not very good at hide and go seek…

He stalks things – mostly scorpions, spiders, and flies. (The flies keep him pretty busy since he has to track them throughout the house. It’s only really annoying at night.)

It might not be a ton of evidence, but I think it’s a pretty good start. All of these sound like  cat-like behavior to me…

More perching...

More perching…

Now, if a fly would come between Rocky (my big dog) and the window, Rocky would smash it with his head, but he wouldn’t stalk it. Is that because he’s lazy? Maybe. But maybe it’s because he’s not part cat! If Rocky makes eye contact with you, he usually tries to convince you to give him a B-O-N-E or T-R-E-A-T. There’s no way Rocky could hide under anything unless it was a bus or something. And jumping up and running around for no apparent reason and perching – not happening. Never has. Again, is it because he’s lazy? Possibly, but I think it’s because he’s not part cat!

So, is this behavior a small dog thing or is Jacques part cat? Hmm…

More perching and even more snoozing...

More perching and even more snoozing…

One thought on “Is My Dog Part Cat?

  1. these are definately cat like traits… I know I have 2 cats and they do exactly the same thing! However, my cats have dog like traits as well! They greet you at the door when you come home and beg for treats!!! Got to love animals!

    Like

Speak!!

